Hunting w Dogs in Yancey County

YanceyGreenhorn

Still Not a Moderator
Hey y’all thanks for the access to this forum. I am new to hunting at 32 years old. I was raised by liberals who put it in my head that guns were to be feared and that only hunting with a bow is admirable...but I wasn’t allowed to do that either. Anyways, thank god for a free country where I can do what I want! So I’ve started hunting. I’m an avid fisherman(mostly smallies and Trout) but I’ve poured my heart and soul into hunting this past season and loving every minute. I live in Yancey county and bear hunting with hounds is such a big part of
The culture here obviously. I just wanted some feedback about asking folks to tag along w them for a hunt. For those of us that didn’t grow up in it, it can make us pretty envious seeing everyone at the general store with their dog boxes at 6 am getting ready for a hunt. One thing I’ve learned this season is how to not step on other sportsman’s toes and I wanted to know if it’s frowned upon to ask folks about going on a hunt w them. I absolutely fascinated by hunting dogs in any capacity...but I’ve been dying to see someone work w their bear dogs and YouTube only offers so much excitement

nccatfisher

Old Mossy Horns
Contributor
I can tell you that bear hunters in the mountain area is a close nit group. And with past experiences even more so, a stranger will be met with skepticism, once locals get to know you the chances of you being allowed to tag along on a hunt are greater. You may be interested in starting out with coon hunters who many times have connections to bear hunters and working your way up.

shadycove

Twelve Pointer
NCC is spot on here, those folk up where the ground ain't flat don't trust ANY outsider
If I was you, I would start Monday by being seen at the local hangouts near your home. Let the clerks get to know you but don't be forward with anyone.