Anyone here hunt with a dachshund???

YanceyGreenhorn

Still Not a Moderator
I just rescued a 13 month old dachshund/beagle mix. He’s a total sweetheart but I’ve noticed every time I take him out he has his sniffer to the ground or in the air. His hearing is unbelievable and he’s pretty well tempered. Any of you guys hunt grouse with this breed? I read some stuff online and saw some YouTube videos of an awesome dachshund flushing grouse. Maybe I’m being too optimistic? Any suggestions greatly appreciated be I think he’d be a good bird dog. Also: I have zero hunting experience regarding dogs. Thanks guys!

bowhuntingrook

Old Mossy Horns
A dachshund is one of the most versatile hunting dogs there is. In Germany they are called a Teckel (wirehaired dachshund). Trailing wounded game, retrieving, flushing birds, rabbits, squirrel, pigs and as an earth dog, tunneling underground to flush rabbit, fox and badger for hunters and falconers. Dachshunds from European lines will open up on scent alone. In Germany, strict breeding guidelines have preserved the hunt in them, is yours a teckel, no, but it may be showing you a few of the characteristics they were initially born with as hunters. They have a great nose, and cold track wounded deer/bear up to 24 or more if conditions are right to preserve scent. This is what serious trackers use them for most in the US. There's a few breeders in the US, who breed German wirehaired dachshunds (teckels) with European lines, but they are waitlisted heavily and buyers screened before purchase etc. Watch some videos. See what his prey drive is like, try some blood trails or deer liver drag with the dog, place some goodies, liver would be good to munch on at end of trail, or deer hide, see what he does. I lucked out and will have a teckel within 2 weeks.

Last edited:

bowhuntingrook

Old Mossy Horns