target shooting public game land

doodly

Can you target shoot on public game lands? I'm new to bow hunting and would like to get in some practice shooting from a climber.

woodmoose

Administrator
Staff member
Contributor
unless it's a designated range I'd be cautious or at least talk with local game warden first,,,,,,, no way for anyone that sees you up in a tree or coming out of the woods that you were "just" target shooting,,,,,

and welcome to the forum

Last edited:

Bud B.

Eight Pointer
You can, but do not take any broadheads with you. I asked this specific question on facebook to NCWRC. Here is their answer;

IMG_20170716_115832.jpg

doodly

You can, but do not take any broadheads with you. I asked this specific question on facebook to NCWRC. Here is their answer;

Perfect. Yea, I was just planning on taking some arrows with field points and a bag target. Thanks!

doodly

Where do yo live you can't shoot a bow?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I'm near Crossroads Cary. I've shot at First Flight up in north Raleigh, but was looking for somewhere to shoot from a climber. Is there anywhere else in Raleigh where it's safe to shoot?

Tipmoose

Administrator
Staff member
Contributor
I'm near Crossroads Cary. I've shot at First Flight up in north Raleigh, but was looking for somewhere to shoot from a climber. Is there anywhere else in Raleigh where it's safe to shoot?

The Durham County Wildlife Club has an archery range with elevated shooting positions and 3D targets.

http://dcwc.info/

JJWise

Twelve Pointer
In the Croatan there is no target shooting whatsoever. I emailed the NCWRC and they "encouraged" no hunting with 1/2 mile of any recreation area (picnic area, trails, etc)

Homebrewale

Old Mossy Horns

Homebrewale

Old Mossy Horns

I was glad to see your post. I decided to look up the regulations after reading it. Two things were specifically interesting to me in the WRC rule 15A NCAC 02D .0102