Things Unique About North Carolina

LadyHunter

Button Buck
Okay, so I am currently a student at Western Carolina. I have a project due for the end of the semester. This is an outdoor related project. I have kinda hit a brick wall and I just can not come up with any ideas. It needs to be something very unique and cool about North Carolina.

Everyone has been to a state park, walking trail, ect. We have all seen the little signs along the way that tell us something unique in that park or on that trail. Well, that is what I have been asked to do is create one of those displays for people to read and learn about.

So, this is where I need some help!!! What do you guys think would be really cool and fun to see? I need cool and interesting ideas! I figured us all being outdoor people this would be a great place to ask around for some ideas.

Thanks!!:)

Tipmoose

Administrator
Staff member
Contributor
I would guess there are limitless possibilities with regard to the Biltmore Estate.

wturkey01

Old Mossy Horns
Contributor
I would guess there are limitless possibilities with regard to the Biltmore Estate.

Speaking of Biltmore Estate......how about the matriculation of the Estate from 100,000 acres of private property to becoming a National Forest??

Much of the Pisgah NF in Buncombe, Henderson, and Haywood Counties was once owned by George Vanderbilt!!

The history of how the Estate was formed is interesting in itself......

You can visit the Biltmore House to get much of your information.

Soilman

Old Mossy Horns
Contributor
At one time, and I expect it is still true, NC has more miles of paved roads than any other state.

jenkinsnb

Ten Pointer
Oooohhhhh the possibilities.
Mount Mitchell is the tallest peak east of the Mississippi
High Point is dubbed the furniture capital of the world(although a dying industry)
If my memory is correct, Carolina is the oldest State University in the country
We get to claim both Black Beard AND the Wright brothers