which indicator tippet for NC trout?

Lou

Eight Pointer
Fished with a guide a month or two ago in the Asheville area and he was using a section of indicator tippet in the leader that worked WAY better than my "add on" indicators that I had tried in the past. I forgot to ask what it was, but did some web searching and found this stuff on Amazon which I think will come close to what the guide was using. I was planning on putting 18" or so between the main leader and my final 24" of tippet to see if I could duplicate the results I had with the guide. Anybody out there use an indicator tippet, and am I on the right track? I'm still new to fly fishing and any help I can get is much appreciated.

Thanks,
Lou

Quackman

Twelve Pointer
Personally. I never use an indicator and if I do it is a dry fly with a dropper behind it. I do kinda like your idea with this product though. If it was me I would only use 2-4 inches of the indicator tippet and it would be much higher than 24 inches.
It sounds like a very interesting idea that I would like to try this winter if I find myself nymphing.

cloningerba

Old Mossy Horns
I've never seen this tippet rig you speak of. I'm also not a die hard fly fisherman but have fly fished enough. As quackman said, either a dry fly with a dropper nymph or a strike indicator such as a clear float or hair that floats has worked best for me. Wouldn't it sink after a while?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

haywoodhunter

Eight Pointer
I have used this tippet and it does work well but I don't really ever use it now because of the small size of streams I focus on

alt1001

Old Mossy Horns