What router bit do I need?

Longrifle

Old Mossy Horns
Contributor
I'm a decent carpenter, I can build for myself but I'd never make a living at it and wouldn't make a pimple on a good trim carpenter's behind! I'm a complete rookie at anything I'd consider "technical" woodworking. I've got a container stacked with 3/4"x8" pine planking and I want to turn it to shiplap for the inside of this container home. What I have to work with is a 1/4" router, a good planer, an old table saw...and plenty of time.
Seems like after the planks are ripped and planed it would be simple to use the router with the right bit(or bits) to turn them into shiplap. Right or wrong? If I'm right can someone please tell me what router bit I need? Lol, better yet if you can point it out on Amazon that'd be great!

Wildlifer

Old Mossy Horns
Can your tablesaw take a dado stack? If so I would run it through there and make a rabbet exactly half the thickness. Traditional shiplap will be 1/2" on one edge and 3/4" on the other side leaving 1/4" reveal when you put it together.
On the router you would use a 1/2" straight/ dado bit and a 3/4" bit. Since you will be running a lot of it I would spend the money on a spiral cut bit.
Lastly I have a full size saw and have been wanting to get a dado stack for it if I can be of any help.

Longrifle

Old Mossy Horns
Contributor
Thanks wildlifer, it's much appreciated! Lol, like I told ya, I'm a complete novice, but with that information and the proper nomenclature for the bits I think I can handle it with the router....

nccatfisher

Old Mossy Horns
Contributor
If it has knots on the edges make damn sure and wear safety glasses. It will bust them and sling them out like missiles.

Longrifle

Old Mossy Horns
Contributor
If it has knots on the edges make damn sure and wear safety glasses. It will bust them and sling them out like missiles.