Understanding bay boats and then prices

hunthard2

Twelve Pointer
Contributor
Hello all, first time starting a thread in the saltwater section, I think.

I have recently found fascination in the idea of having a boat I can run in the sound/channel/ICW and use on Kerr lake close to my home. I am going to take the classes and will get my BIL to further train me on the water. I can operate basstracker style boats fairly confidently, as long as @haywoodhunter doesn’t make me back down that cliff he calls a boat ramp.

A few questions: are boat prices sky high right now on the used side, like trucks are? Seems you can buy a brand new boat for mid/upper 20s and the same boat 3 years old is still mid 20s. Boats that are 30 years old ( talking small sea hunts, crest liners, etc) can be in the 20k area as well. I know it depends what size/line/brand you’re looking at but I am looking at beginner cc in the 17-20 ft range. The reason I ask is because I have no experience in which to determine value of these boats.

Also, what are your opinions of decent“beginner” boats? I will be strictly starting in the lake to get comfortable. I was thinking a Carolina skiff would be a durable, relatively inexpensive boat, but have come to read on other forums like thehulltruth, that a little chop on the sound will make for a rough and wet ride in a flat bottom.

I am beginning research now and hope to have a boat in the next few years as long as life allows.

Mr.Gadget

Old Mossy Horns
Get something with a V to it. Not a flat for a family boat.
On the price side there is a shortage of boats and parts prices reflect it. That has jacked the used market. I would not buy a boat now new or used if not a smoking deal.
Also factor in used there are no parts or very hard to get now. If you get one and needs parts it may be parked for a long time. Boat repair shops are also backed way up.

nchawkeye

Old Mossy Horns