Two firsts in three days

RPD689

Spike
I have been trapping coyotes in NC for 20 years. I experienced two first time happenings on the line within three days of each other a week ago.

#1: a coyote/ skunk double .

I had a skunk in the left trap and a female coyote in the right. Sign at the location showed that there was a second coyote there. Tracks showed its direction of travel as it left and there were three kickbacks in the path about. thirty yards apart. Time was critical that day, so I did not make a set for it until the next day. The coyote told me how to catch it. First check was a non target that was released. Contrary to what many preach, I reset the same trap in the same set. There ws a male coyote spinning around the day after.

#2: a coyote/dog double.

I turned off the road and saw a white animal in the first trap. A few years ago, I caught an almost pure white skunk within 100 yards of where this trap was, so I had bad thoughts. About 15 feet away was a back foot caught coyote doing his best to imitate a NASA rocket launch as he went straight up as soon as his feet hit the ground. All this was happening in the 0600 pitch black dark. I got the pole on him and loaded him in the truck. The white object was a mixed breed dog weighing about 20 pounds. The buyer and I both estimate the coyote to weigh in the neighborhood of 50 pounds. He is one of the largest that I have caught. This happened on the same day that I caught the non target above.

Question:

Which animal do you think was caught first at each set? What might the coyotes intentions have been?

I am off the line for a couple of days, so I thought that I would take time to post. I have a flip phone that is text disabled. I did get camera pictures of #1 and the coyote. I had a ride along on catch day. So, sorry but no pictures.

Thank you for reading an old man's ramblings.

QuietButDeadly

Old Mossy Horns
Contributor