Tree winch

Moose

Administrator
Staff member
Contributor
With about a month till I leave on my moose hunt adventure plans are coming together. One of the things is once you kill it how are you going to move it. A winch of some kind is what I thought and I saw a video about a bracket a guy built to attach an atv winch to a tree to drag a elk. Other than a welding shop class back in 9th grade I have no experience with tackling a project like this. At the summer gtg I found someone who was better equipped to tackle this project and it looks like they did a fantastic job. In20180906_152610.jpg6161.jpeg

Moose

Administrator
Staff member
Contributor
So basically the bracket accepts a trailer hitch bracket that holds the winch and the tree bracket will be attached to tree with two ratcheting straps. I hope I don't need it but rather be prepared. Now I got to figure the right batteries to use in case I got to carry it in a ways.

lasttombstone

Kinder, Gentler LTS
I like it Moose, and hope you get to christen it this year. I came up with something similar to raise ladder stands using a boat winch. Sure you didn't want to try getting a moose up a tree with a hand crank.

Banjo

Old Mossy Horns
That could save the ole back right there!! I could use it to put up ladder stands.

Mr.Gadget

Old Mossy Horns
Look at amsteel blue rope to replace the cable.
It will cut the weight a bunch and also add a bunch more length of reach.
You can get shoe lace thickness that is anyplace from 1600 to 2200 lb working load. You should be able to get 100 feet or more.
Would also make sure of the strap rating. They may not handle the load.
I have used them to make a zip line to get deer accross a creek with only a pulley and rope added. QD plugs make easy work of the battery or able to move and re rig. They cost about 15$ at cabelas.

QBD2

Old Mossy Horns
Enjoyed it Moose, always fun to do something a little different! Hope it serves you well;)

Soilman

Old Mossy Horns
Contributor