Tree saddle advice.

GAWolf

Ten Pointer
I’ve been watching a ton of youtube videos, and a lot of John Eberhart tutorials. I like the idea of being mobile and better hidden. Thoughts from you all who have already invested the money and time into one of these systems?

Matty

Six Pointer
Contributor
Wouldn't trade if for anything for the way I prefer to hunt. I have been using it fairly exclusively for the past several years. There was a pretty decent thread in here not too terribly long ago, I'll try to dig it up and link to it here.

Matty

Six Pointer
Contributor

If you are ever in the GSO/Summerfield area I'd be more than happy to let you try the gear out / walk you through the process.

GAWolf

Ten Pointer

If you are ever in the GSO/Summerfield area I'd be more than happy to let you try the gear out / walk you through the process.
That’s kind of you to offer. Really kind. There are ton of how-to videos on youtube. I think I can figure it out from those, but thank you sincerely. What brand do you have? Would you do anything differently now that you have time invested in it?

i’m looking at Tethrd.

Loganwayne

Ten Pointer
I’ve got a saddle as well. It’s pretty nice, and it gets easier and more comfortable the more you use it and get use to how to adjust it to you. That said I still setup a lock on if i plan on hunting for a long time or several sits in an area. I also tend to move more in my saddle than in a lock on.

If you already have climbing sticks use those and then pickup a saddle and a platform.

Side note on platforms if you get one, I’d suggest one that you can adjust the angle, I can’t stand on one that is leaning down or away from the tree without shaking like crazy, level it up or little above level I’m fine.

Honestly a set of sticks has been the best climbing method I’ve found. It may be heavier but I can move quieter and setup faster with 3-4 sticks than anything else I’ve tried.