Spin Drift

Downeast

Twelve Pointer
Last week I shot for the first time at 900 yards and noticed that my groups were about 8 inches to the right. No wind to speak of. Then I found out about spin drift and sure enough the spin of the bullet will swing your groups to the right (for a right hand twist barrel). I'm a real newbie at shooting long range but it is a really fun learning experience. I dug up a few formulas online and not sure if they will work but I'm going to plug in my data and see what happens the next time I shoot. The Coriolis Effect is another one that makes my head hurt. Got to get the silly planet to stop spinning!! :D Anyone else enjoy shooting "way out yonder"?

woodmoose

Administrator
Staff member
Contributor
Coriolis Effect,,,,,,,,,some funny articles have been written on that,,,,,,,be careful shooting across the equator,,,,,,,,,,,

bigten

Old Mossy Horns
Contributor
Coriolis Effect,,,,,,,,,some funny articles have been written on that,,,,,,,be careful shooting across the equator,,,,,,,,,,,

Yea, it'll make your bullet spin backwards and affect your spin drift calculations.. :)

wdjenkins

I love to shoot long range too. It's a big challenge and lots of fun. You can always learn more from experienced shooters. I think the biggest obstacle to me was getting that perfect load developed. I read a ton on the subject. Tried lots of different bullets, powder, brass, primers, you name it. When shooting at 1000 yards I even weigh all my brass, bullets and even try to get to 1/20 th of a grain on my powder charges. The more perfect your ammo is the better groups you get at long range. The world record group size at 1000 yards if I'm not mistaken is 1.403". Think golf ball at 1000. Think about that one! What caliber you shooting?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Downeast

Twelve Pointer