Sights?

Apike524

Spike
I'm new to bow hunting and was wondering everyones opinion on sights. My dad was an old school bow hunter and loved the one pin sight. I was looking at 5 pin sights but wanted to see what everyone used and why? Thank in advance for all the advice.

DarrinG

Six Pointer
Im a bowhunter and my range with my wheel bow is usually limited to around 40 yards. Any further than that, just too much can happen between release and impact, so that's my personal limit. I use a 3 pin Trophy Ridge sight at present and like it. My traditional bow has no sights at all.

kilerhamilton

Old Mossy Horns
I’ve shot em all. I like a clean sight picture because I shoot a ton of arrows at targets. Only 10-15 at animals a year. I choose a single pin. Deer hunting out of a stand 80% of the time. Set the kill up at 8-25yds. Pin says on 20in the stand. If the deer is at 30yds pin goes dead center on the deer. If the deer is at 40 the pin goes right under the top line on the deer. If the deers at 25 and under the pin goes in his or her arm pit. Targets I practice at 70yds, as long as I can stretch at home.. I love that single clean pin to float around and execute my shot. Not to blow smoke up my own arse but I’m very familiar with killing deer and my personal set up. Even when I change arrows/bows etc. I recognize quick the trajectory of the arrow and how to hunt with the single pin. If I had to go back 15yrs I would go back to 3-5 fixed pins so there would be no confusion. If I hunted out west and had to shoot stuff from 10-80yds I would have fixed moving pins. So I could have a “floater” pin out to 100yds.