Shotgun barrel length ?

nekkedducker

Ten Pointer
Just curious what everyone's opinion on how barrel length affects certain aspects of a shotguns ability. I recently started shooting a Franchi Affinty with a 28" barrel. Ive always been the longer is better person, but I've shot some other guns with shorter barrels (26") that feel like they swing better, I guess because of the less foward weight. So I guess my question is, what would be the sacrifice of going to a shorter barrel? Mainly i shoot doves, ducks, and occasionally buckshot for deer, and rarely shoot anything outside 30 yards even with full chokes.

nccatfisher

Old Mossy Horns
Contributor
I cut mine 18.5-19 and have them fitted for screw in chokes. They fit the bill perfect for me because I am all the time crawling under vines etc. They pattern great with appropriate chokes. They would not be appropriate in a duck blind with shooters on each side of you though.

Last edited:

TravisLH

Old Mossy Horns
Ive been told by my old gun smith that they hold pattern longer with a longer barrel than a short one with a choke. Im not an expert but if we're just talking going from 28' to 26' with the same choke i dont think there would be much of a difference.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

nekkedducker

Ten Pointer
Ive been told by my old gun smith that they hold pattern longer with a longer barrel than a short one with a choke. Im not an expert but if we're just talking going from 28' to 26' with the same choke i dont think there would be much of a difference.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
That's what I was always told too. For years I shot an 1100 with a 30 inch barrel but it was getting some age so it's semi retired. And the franchi shoots and patterns fine, I was just worried it wouldn't if I went to a shorter barrel, just for the sake of a better swing feel.

Jmac

Everything else being equal, a 30"barrel will hold a pattern 4inches further than a 26" barrel will.

Last edited by a moderator: