Scent covering

JBGrizzley

Eight Pointer
Happy 4th yall! Im just wondering what yall use for scent covering? Usually i just spray myself down with wildlife research center supercharged scent killer, and spray again after putting on my coveralls. I work as a tractor mechanic, so most of my hunts may be after work, without a chance to really scrub the stink off me. Ive heard of other mechanics spraying oil & diesel fuel around their land year round so the deer are used to the smell. Ill take any advice, tips or secrets i can get, i got winded almost every time i saw a deer last season. Oh and has anybody tried fairchase nose jammer?

wademaster

I don't go unless I can be completely scent free. If I were you I'd build/purchase a box blind. Scent won't be as much of a factor.

Sent from my kayak...

RealTree_JD

I use scent killer gold. Supposedly you can spray your cloths down and once dry, it's effective for longer and you don't have to worry about hunting right away. Have you tried field wipes? Maybe wash down as much as you can before leaving work and take a woods "shower" with field wipes, and be real particular about the wind. Be better than nothing!

Last edited:

Kendo

if I had to wait to hunt until i was scent free i would never be able to go..... well actually that is pretty much my story anyways.....ha

spoonriver

Floyd the Barber
After reading numerous post on " smoking" your clothes before hunting,, I tried it on purpose ,,last year. I only got to try it once but it worked. This year I hope to get to hunt more often so I'm going to do it again. Back in the 80's I was unintentionally doing it all the time as my coveralls always smelled smokey due to my dad burning leaves in the back yard where I hung my hunting clothes at. It worked then and works now... It sounds crazy but it works...

nckeith

Ten Pointer