Planning a Camping Trip

KrisB

Ten Pointer
Hey, all,

I'm planning a camping trip sometime this month for a few days to do some hunting and trapping in Uwharrie National Forest. I haven't camped since I was in the Girl Scouts, so I'm a pretty beginner camper. I already got some good advice from one forum member, but I wanted to ask others: Do you have any tips for how to make a first camping trip a good experience? Anything in particular I should bring?

I've got a dome tent, a sleeping bag, headlamp, firelighter, plenty of clothes to layer up in, and some thick blankets. Also have a cooler. Planning to get a hatchet before I go for firewood. I can bring a bucket or just use a creek to wash stuff in. I'm planning to camp at a designated camping area, which has basic amenities available (water, toilets, etc). I thought that'd be good as a beginner and then go for the primitive camping once I have some experience. I'll get a small, really basic grill for those trips.

What are y'all's thoughts?

Last edited:

Lee

Six Pointer
You're off to a good start. Getting a good night's sleep makes the trip better no matter what the weather or anything else throws at you. A sleeping bag and blankets may keep half of you warm, but even more important is the insulation beneath you. I recommend whatever system is available to insulate the cold from the ground and pad the rocks and roots.

My favorite trick is eating right before going to bed for the night. It fuels the body's heating system.

41magfan

Twelve Pointer
Contributor
Unlike backpacking, car-camping is nice because you can take a number of "extras" or contingency items without penalty. Make sure you have what you need to sleep well and eat well as the trip has the potential to be a total failure if those two elements aren't satisfied.