Pack out: 1/4 vs drag....

sears303

Spike
I am new to deer hunting, but do a lot of reading and listening. I know the areas here in Western Carolina are rugged, and I have hiked, squirrel and turkey hunted so I understand the terrain. My question is mostly for public land guys that kill a deer and do not have the option to just drag it out whole. I know each scenario can be different, but overall, best to...
  • Gut and carry(doe or small buck)
  • 1/4 and pack out
  • Bone out in field and pack out
Just looking for what you guys prefer when driving the truck or ATV back is not an option. Thanks for any tips!

dubbeltap69

Eight Pointer
Contributor
1/4 and carry out in a pack. I havent come across a deer in NC that I couldn't get out in 1 load with a good pack.
I'll never drag another deer (very far) if I can help it.

1/4 it out takes MAYBE 30 minutes longer than caping one out with a hanger.

Several youtube videos available.

Moose

Administrator
Staff member
Contributor
Can you quarter one prior to checking it in? I've never done it that way but I assume you can. Boning it out I'm pretty sure has to happen after you check it in. Lack of cell service could be an issue.

I don't think you can separate any of the meat from the skin prior to calling it in.

I bring mine out whole but then again I've done the same with every moose I've killed so far too :D

nchawkeye

Old Mossy Horns
When hunting the Uwharries, thankfully I have a signal...I call it in, hang it in a tree with a racket pulley, bone it out, put meat in bags, put bags in backpack and come out with it...I'm not getting a heart attack trying to drag a deer out...

sears303

Spike
I did get some game bags in case I am super fortunate. Seems like 1/4 is the way to go. I did read about leaving proof of sex, so just making sure of that.

josh

Old Mossy Horns
Contributor