Newbie Muzzleloader and Blackhorn 209 Powder

Larry Eckart

Four Pointer
Guys,
I am a newbie to Muzzleloading.

I just ordered a CVA Optima from Gander Mountain with a dead on scope mount. I will put a Bushnell Banner scope on it. It will take about 15-30 days for Gander to get it me, according to the ticket. I'm fine with that. The price was great: $275 with a 10% online discount. What a deal!

Now I am sifting through the choices for bullet and powder.

It sounds like many guys like the Hornady XTP HP for a bullet. I'll probably start there. Sounds like Powerbelts have a poor reputation here.

Powder is more confusing to me.

While pellets are more convenient, it appears that there are many advantages to using Blackhorn 209. Those advantages include:
- cleaner burning; easier on the barrel
- ability to adapt your load, especially if you want less recoil at the range
- superior accuracy

I see that I need a different breech plug for my Optima if I go that route. No problem.

I am amazed that some guys seem to prefer NOT cleaning their barrel after every use but only after every season. Wow!

I am willing to start with Blackhorn, but I can't find anyplace that has it in stock.

Is this a seasonal problem or is it an ongoing issue?

I thank you for the time and look forward to participating in this forum.

Larry

stilker

Old Mossy Horns
It can be a little tough to find and not cheap but extremely clean and consistent and you can modify your breech plug with a drill bit.The optima is a great gun

Last edited:

45/70 hunter

Old Mossy Horns
Contributor