My late (end of!) season turkey spurs.

NCST8GUY

Frozen H20 Guy
So, after showing some things to some actual knowledgeable turkey hunters (I am still a very novice), I decided to do some comparisons. It has been mentioned on here about how tough turkey hunting can be late in the season, and it has been rebutted by it's possibly the best time of the season to hunt turkeys.

I want to be neutral. Although, my spurs tell a different story.

Keep in mind that 10 or so year ago, I'd never turkey hunted. Joined a lease that had turkeys, and after a season or 2 saw so many, figured I'd try it. Got so frustrated I drove up one morning and barged in on what can truly be called an NC turkey hunting professional, begged him to take me, and he did, and the results are in the archives.

So, in 2016, LAST DAY, I realize the night before, at the clubhouse, I forgot my bag of camo........No problem, I hunted a ground blind in my work clothes, and a gobbler fell INTO MY LAP around 6:20 am! Good Spurs!

2017....LAST DAY, I set up in my own ground blind, hunted so long (like 8:30 am) I take OFF most of my camo, when a hen appears in front of my ground blind, with 3 hens in tow, and finally the dominant Tom, which I take. Over an 11 inch beard! Good Spurs!

2018. Last week of turkey season. I strike out in the morning, eat sammiches, take a nap, then set up for an afternoon hunt and wouldn't you know it, a turkey walks in front of my gun more or less.

Only when I had him in hand, did I know this (2018) bird was a goodun, even though he only had a 10 inch beard. But not until I got home and compared his spurs to my previous lsat week Tom's did I say......aloud.....O....M....G...!!!!!

On the club scales, he's 4 pounds heavier than the 7 other birds taken at our lease.