Long Range Deer Hunting Pistols Advice?

Ahi2mahi

Hi, I'm new to hunting and to this forum. Last year I went deer hunting for the first time and got hooked! I used a rifle but was wondering if anyone can give me some advice on using a long range pistol for deer hunting. I'm thinking 200-250 yards for range with enough energy to put a deer down but not with really high recoil. I have a .44 mag. but found that in open fields I didn't have enough range. If you hunted with long range pistols, I would like to get your opinions as to what to look for in calibers pros and cons. I'm leaning on a Thompson Center because of the barrel change feature but would be open to makes. Not looking for paper punching but for deer medicine in a small package. Thanks

wturkey01

Old Mossy Horns
Contributor
Watched another hunter put down a doe at 225 paces with a 7-30 Waters out of a Contender.

robertc

Eight Pointer
I have a scoped .44 mag with a 7.5 inch barrel that I hunt with. Its sighted in for a 100 yards but my longest shot has been 60 yards. I Don't think I would be comfortable much over 125 yards. But that's just me. I have shot a Thompson Center Contender in .35 Remington that was awesome.

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk

Longrifle

Old Mossy Horns
Contributor
I shot Contenders exclusively for years back in the day. I think if I were looking for a hunting pistol with the utmost accuracy in a great caliber I'd look at the Contender with a custom 308 barrel from Mike Bellm...

Ahi2mahi

What would the recoil be like on a .308 pistol? I would hate to dread the recoil every time I pulled the trigger. I shot the .243 in a rifle and that was really mild. I shoot a .308 semi and that's not too bad. Will the .243 still have enough knock down energy at 200 yards in a pistol barrel length? I don't reload, so will rely on factory ammo.

apexhunter

Ten Pointer