Lone Wolf hang-on/sticks users....I have a Q or two

DBCooper

Old Mossy Horns
Contributor
I've been using LW stands (climbers) for +/- 10 yrs. I have a LW saddle bag attached to the seat of my flip seat hand climber. In it, I have my release aid, bow hook, haul line and my tether. It's a really good self-contained (convenient) way to do things. I also realize I'm missing out on getting in the exact tree(s) I sometimes want to get it (using a climber). I always thought the lock-on/sticks were a little risky, but my new lineman's rope makes things much easier.

If you use the lock-on/sticks, I want to know:

1. How do you handle your bow, once you get to height?

2. How long does it take you to get set up (4 sticks)? In your opinion, is it more or less work (worried about sweating) than a climber?

3. Are you tethered 100% of the time?

4. Which platform are you using? Why did you choose that particular model? How big a boy are ya? Do you wish you'd gotten a bigger platform (Alpha)?

I will always have a LW climber, but I'm pretty sure I'm going to add this to the arsenal. I'm guessing I could get it down to being up and set in 5-7 minutes, but that's a semi-educated guess.

spoonriver

Floyd the Barber
I typically leave my set ups up so I'm not an expert on the subject but I have did the hang and hunt thing a few times. A few things I did was convert a few sticks with the rope modifications that allows them to be used on larger trees. That system is also more quiet due to not having buckles that could clang around.

I didn't care to climb with "everything" like bow and backpack so I just tied a pull rope on my side and when I got all set up I just pulled my gear up.

Your in better shape than most guys so a set up in 10 minutes could be possible but not for this guy lol. I switched to a rock climbing harness and use the ropeman 1 ascender device. I'm always tethered.

slickheadslayer

Six Pointer