Leaving a gun unsecured in a motor vehicle

CRC

Old Mossy Horns
Its a crime in NC to leave a gun where a minor can get their hands on it.

Should there be criminal penalties to leaving an unsecured gun in an unlocked vehicle?

Last edited:

wncdeerhunter

Old Mossy Horns
Its a crime in NC to leave a gun where a minor can get their hands on it.

Should their be criminal penalties to leaving an unsecured gun in an unlocked vehicle?
You’re wrong on your first assumption - it’s not a crime to leave a gun where a minor can get it.

Reactions: DRS

Longrifle

Old Mossy Horns
Contributor
No brainer to me, legality has little to do with it. I screwed up one time, left my truck in the WM parking lot in New Bern one morning and hitched a ride with a friend to a 3D tournament. Came back and my GPS was gone.....but my Sig was still in the console. Learning experience that could have been a lot more costly. If I'm not in it I lock it.

KrisB

Ten Pointer
I am still new with guns and I would never, ever leave one in my car, even locked and in the trunk where it can't be seen. You just never know. Someone could still break into your car. If I am going hunting or trapping after work during the open seasons, I can change into my hunting clothes and pick up my gun at home. If I'm going before work, I can easily leave my gun at home before I drive to work. Also, I live out in the country, so I don't worry so much about break-ins at home. Totally different story in the city where I work. I always lock my car there. But I'd never leave my gun in my car even at home.

Maybe it is different for those of you who carry. I do not. I only own a .22 and a shotgun for hunting and dispatching animals in traps (with the .22) and I'm not interested in carrying. Just a personal preference. To each their own.

41magfan

Twelve Pointer
Contributor