Help with Falls Lake fishing.

Nana

Big Ole Nanny
Contributor
Help me out guys. I have spent a lifetime fishing salt water. This year I am bringing my Carolina Skiff home to Wake Forest until the end of March. Mostly so she will be available after work to be cleaned up to get ready for late spring and summer at the coast. It is time for a new impellor and an oil change. I am sure my Wake Forest neighbors will find it as entertaining as my campground neighbors!

I plan to try some fishing at Falls Lake in the next six weeks.

I have ZERO fresh water fishing experience in the last 45 years. I fished the glades in Fla as a kid but those memories are pretty foggy and seem to include string, an open safety pin and a hunk of Vienna Sausage (the only suitable use for that vile stuff).

I don't need to know anyone's fishing spots. What I need is advice about what to fish FOR in February/March at Falls Lake. I live about 5 mins from the Lake. Bait suggestions for morning, evening, mid day. I am clueless........And I just want to catch fish. Don't care what kind.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Papa_Smurf

Twelve Pointer
Contributor
crappie!

minnows on small hook about 15" below a bobber
minnow on small hook about 1 foot off the bottom in some deeper coves
charlie brewer crappie slider jigs (i like the black with glow tail), simple cast and slow retrieve

Bass in march could be on their beds. It's been very warm this winter.

JONOV

Old Mossy Horns
I've always caught fish out there. Sometimes just catfish on crappie minnows but I've always caught something.

dlbaile

Ten Pointer