Fishing with Artificial Bait, No Hooks, Etc.?

KrisB

Ten Pointer
Hello again, everyone,

I have a few questions about using artificial bait, fishing without hooks (if that's possible), and any other alternative ways to fish besides putting a live worm or a cricket on a hook. I am pretty new to fishing and yesterday, after I got a bamboo pole with a line and a hook and a floater (?? the thing that bobs on top of the water and you can move up and down the line...see, I don't even know all the right terms yet, forgive me, please) and some live bait (crickets and redworms), I tried to go fishing, but I just could not put the worm on the hook. I had a very emotional response to it. I know it's probably silly, but I now know that I will not be using live bait in the future. Which brings me to my questions:

I've heard mentioned elsewhere that you can buy artificial bait and use that instead and that you can even fish without a hook. Can anyone point me in the right direction for that? What else can you use besides a hook? I'm a total beginner, so I don't think fly fishing will be on my horizon for now. The closest fishing hole to me, a local reservoir, has crappie, sunfish, catfish, and largemouth bass in it. Would artificial bait work for any of those?

I'm going now to try putting some (dead) raw shrimp I got from the grocery store on my hook and see if I can catch anything with that. Any advice would be very welcome. Thank you!

KrisB

Ten Pointer
I want to at least try before I give up. I used to fish as a kid with one of my aunts, had no problems. I'm not so concerned about killing and cleaning the fish. Just the idea of the live worm or cricket on the hook felt like torture. But I'll certainly be thinking about if this is the right thing for me or not.

Eric Revo

Old Mossy Horns
Contributor
Try the various Gulp baits for the fish you are targeting, they don't feel a thing and the fish love them.

woodmoose

Administrator
Staff member
Contributor