Dove opener live

HotSoup

Old Mossy Horns
This went full circle....my first dove hunt when I was 14 was with a fox sterling worth 16....
I bought one last year and this is my first year hunting with it. That thing will straight blast a bird, just have to get used to 2 triggers again.
PXL_20210904_130751976.jpg

Also hunted with my Ithaca 37 and when the birds got high, broke out the Benelli. Had fun but not alot of birds flying.
PXL_20210904_133735335.jpg

My take:
PXL_20210904_133651121.jpg

What the Benelli will do to a high bird....crashed like a meteor
PXL_20210904_131356275.jpg

haywoodhunter

Eight Pointer
We had a great time this morning. No limits but lots of laughs. Had a guy back behind us that killed nearly every bird that fell within sight. At least that's what he was telling the whole field. At one point he was loudly exclaiming about how tired he was getting from doing all the walking he was doing retrieving "his" doves.

HotSoup

Old Mossy Horns
et me help you with context...
"Very slow" means you sat in the field all day, saw two doves and did not fire your gun. You can try this at many NCWRC game lands.
"was able to limit out" means it was not "very slow".

I disagree, I've been ruined by dove hunts in the past when covey of 10-20 birds would come in at a time. Slow is I see a bird or two every 5 minutes and a shooter every 10 to 15, which is how it was yesterday. There was a good 30 minute run and if I was a powerline shooter I could have swatted 5 or so with my first shot, but I'm not.

Mr.Gadget

Old Mossy Horns
Had a great day with friends.
That is all I need for a good hunt.

Lots of talk, no one drinking, some birds.... it was OK for birds but lot of slow time. Went to eat BBQ mid day and returned to kill a few more birds. Maybe 8 or 9 for me.
Finished the day with a dinner and time with great friends.

Could not ask for much more.