Crop for dove field

I’m in my first year of owning some rural land. I lease the cleared portion to a farmer. In lieu of rent he has agreed to plant one of my fields as a dove field in the crop of my choice. This is in SE NC in Duplin County. There is a robust deer population so whatever get planted will get hammered pretty good. The field is about 3 acres.

My question is what crop would you all suggest? Corn, millet, sunflowers?

sky hawk

Old Mossy Horns
Contributor
If deer are going to be a significant problem, then probably brown top millet. If you could plant more acreage, say 5-7 acres, you might be able to still get by with sunflowers.

Proso millet is good too, but it doesn’t produce enough seed for my liking, and it’s high shatter means it drops the seed more randomly rather than holding it until you mow. German millet seems to hold it too tightly.

Doves eat corn, but it wouldn’t be in my top 3.

Rescue44

Old Mossy Horns
Sunflowers is my choice. Have planted brown millet mixed with sunflowers. Several times when I mowed strips and disced the strips early enough, volunteer millet seeded out in time to benefit the doves. Gold finches are a plus later in sunflowers. Although, for some reason, gold finches didn't feed in my sunflowers this year. 🤷‍♂️ Usually there are some nice flocks of gold finches. Mom loves to watch them.

para4514

Eight Pointer
Contributor
I have seen insane dove use on fields that have volunteer Tropic Croton, "dove weed". Seed is available, but I have always hesitated because of invasiveness. I know it can be an agriculture weed, but finding accurate info on the native range is a challenge.

Last edited:

Hunterreed

Twelve Pointer
Plant a strip of popcorn through the center of the field and anything already mentioned around it. Gives you a place to hide plus they like the small kernels

jhwilli2

Eight Pointer