Cottonmouth Question

woodmoose

Administrator
Staff member
Contributor
Thats why Dad taught us from a young age to NEVER EVER step where you cannot see, so we learned to step onto a log, then step AWAY from it while looking to see if 1 was laying against the log and maybe 10% of the time a snake indeed was sunning against the log.

yeap,,,that's been put out for a LONG time,,through generations, books, magazines, etc,,,,,,and I've never (well never say never) have seen a snake on the other side of the log,,,,,but I still step up and then over,,,,

guess I'm lucky,,,,

Part-time hunter

Ten Pointer
Did not have their home environment to defend.
I'm not an expert herpetologist but I've always been interested in reptiles of all kinds. As a kid we would catch and "study" frogs, turtles, lizards, salamanders and the occasional snake. We never kept them around for long or killed any of them. We moved into a newly developing neighborhood when I was 12 and lots of neighbors would burn piles of brush when they cleared the back of their lot. Word got around that my brother and I would help get rid of any snakes that showed up in their yard and we got called on a lot to do just that. Sometimes the snakes would be either dead or dying because of the fire or smoke, or from people trying to kill them with a rake or something. There was a creek behind the place and we'd let the live ones go there. In all the years we did that we never saw a venomous snake but we did see many different species, such as, garters, pines, kings, blacks, waters, decays, to name a few. Once we got hold of a six foot black snake that was dead. We convinced our little sister or maybe 10 years old to put it around her neck and hold the head in her hands while we rang our front doorbell. When our mom opened the door and saw that we thought she was going to have a heart attack. It was hilarious to us at the time. Later when we had to go home, not so funny then.

Part-time hunter

Ten Pointer