Bowhunters nightmare

np307

Ten Pointer
Happened to me tonight. Nice buck came in and I took a 20 yard shot. Everything felt right. Thought I heard him crash. Gave it 10 or 15 minutes went to look, and couldn't find hair or blood or my arrow. He was quartered to slightly and I was hunting from the ground, so I'm not too sure what the outcome will be. Didn't want to push him and my light was dying so I backed out and will go back in the morning.

I'm fairly new to this, so I'll ask a probably stupid question. Will most guys with a dog come out even if you can't find blood? Planning on calling and asking tomorrow morning.

I keep replaying the shot in my mind and I'm almost positive that I hit him. Hopefully tomorrow holds either a clean arrow or a found deer.

oldest school

Old Mossy Horns
You are very wise on the dog. You can sleep tonight knowing you have done the best thing towards a resolution. that crash sound is hard to duplicate or imagine.

Good Luck. Look Forward to the happy recovery pics.

Sp8

Ten Pointer
Good luck finding the your buck. You did the best thing you can do in my opinion, you didn't try pushing the deer and disturbing the scent trail with your scent. It'll make it easier for the dog to pick up the trail since you didn't go walking around. Keep us posted

aya28ga

Old Mossy Horns
Contributor
You made the right choice.

Its hard to make yourself not track at night especially when its this hot and you want to save the meat, but by waiting for the dog you're giving him the best possible shot at recovering it; it would be better if there was some visible blood to start the dog on, but if there were, we wouldn't need the dog, would we? As long as you're certain where the spot is that the deer was standing when you arrowed it, a good dog should be able to pick up the scent from microscopic blood droplets that we can't see.

Good luck on the recovery. By chance, are you the fellow from Halifax county who called me last night around 830pm?