Are you scared for me?

kilerhamilton

Old Mossy Horns
I have zero experience doing this. I have read 2 books worth of articals. And 3hours on you tube. I hope the action comes out of the stock.
8fd89b95278e0acdfa0a6f923ad22173.jpg
11077b827fd080de25b8ae75978b957e.jpg

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk

kilerhamilton

Old Mossy Horns
Taped up and put a thick tape ring on the barrel to make sure even floating clearance in the forend. I drilled small holes where I put the jb compound to insure some additional adhesion.
c6e634ebeb0d43ca043cd5cc34830669.jpg
81002c5970c29bdf37c64a75a04e2899.jpg

Last edited:

kilerhamilton

Old Mossy Horns
I'm surprised it didn't stick bad at all. I used bow string wax as the releases agent.
d20e55195708e1cdfecf1fdcfcaf5501.jpg
cb94fedd81307274063dac06d1bc5fef.jpg
6d1248e21410a5a11e17e36bba3f8a0b.jpg

nccatfisher

Old Mossy Horns
Contributor
If you use good release agent you will be fine. If you miss a place or mess up and use something that isn't compatible with your bedding compound you will have a first class mess on your hands.

The only thing I can caution you on is depending on what you bed with (I always use AccuraGlass) if it says 4 hours, 6 hours or 24) make sure and leave it what it says. I was in a hurry for one I was doing and rushed one and knocked it apart and it appeared solid. But turns out to it had fully cured after I had knocked it apart it had swelled and the action wouldn't fit back in it. I had to grind it out and redo it. So I didn't save a bit of time.

I personally like some of the spray release agents.

jbaldwin

Six Pointer
I have always used surgical tubing to hold action in place instead of tape. Just throwing that out there.

evansperf

Eight Pointer