AR Barrels

Cyperry

Ten Pointer
Contributor
Say you were going to re-barrel your AR with the intent of shooting 77 TMKs around 2700-2800 fps into tinny little groups up to 500 yards. What would you spend your money on?

Inshore duck

Eight Pointer
Douglas (if wanting mk 12 clone) Noveske, Larue, DD, BCM. I have mk 12 Daniel defense I built to crane specs otherwise that shoots 0.4 MOA to 800 yds with 77 TMK.

kilerhamilton

Old Mossy Horns
A cheap savage bolt gun.

1-9 twist with a 22” barrel chambered .223
Which I like to think of as a match 5.56 barrel.

my buddies stag arms gun heavy 24” 1-8 twist shoots them well but my savage bolt guns print them tighter. It’s going to be tough to get an accurate AR platform barrel IMO. Green mountain makes a good one.
It’s all about chamber dimensions IMO
If an 1” at 100 is good enough you shouldn’t have a problem.
the custom m4 seal sniper rifles don’t hardly print them under an 1”

cheers

I’m no expert but I have spent a lot of time behind the mk262 mod 1 round

my best groups are .5 moa at 500yds with it. 2.5” or so.

Last edited:

Cyperry

Ten Pointer
Contributor
A cheap savage bolt gun.

my buddies stag arms gun heavy 24” 1-8 twist shoots them well but my savage bolt guns print them tighter. It’s going to be tough to get an accurate AR platform barrel IMO. Green mountain makes a good one.

cheers

I understand, but I’d like my AR to shoot them. Slightly under MOA consistently would be acceptable to me.

Cyperry

Ten Pointer
Contributor
Anybody shooting a LaRue Stealth? Is the 1:8 enough to stabilize the 77s out of a 16 or 18 inch?

CRC

Old Mossy Horns
Anybody shooting a LaRue Stealth? Is the 1:8 enough to stabilize the 77s out of a 16 or 18 inch?

Absolutely.

1/8 or 1/7 twist

Sierra even recommends 1/8 or faster

This bullet requires a barrel twist rate of 1×8” or faster.

Last edited:

TobyScreams

Twelve Pointer
Satern cut rifled. Ranier arms ultra match. McGowen. Ranier arms match. White oak.