Anybody make their own mouth calls?

Packfan

Eight Pointer
Admittedly, I am not very good with a mouth call. Can I get it done and get birds on the ground with one. Yep, I’ve watched a lot of them die over the years to my raspy clucks, yelps, and cuts. But, I’ve never found a call that I can run “clear” and that I’m happy with even though I know what I have works. With the price of calls these days being insanely expensive, I have a hard time throwing out $10-14 each to either get a so so or an awful sound. When I find one that I like, I usually go back for a couple more only to get one that sounds aweful.

That brings me to the rabbit hole of making your own for what looks like a buck or two each once the jig is paid for…So, who makes their own? And for those of you who do, what jig are you using? It looks like the “Lil’ Jiggy” was the go to for years but I don’t see that those are still available. I found the attached one but it just looks cheap. Any help would be appreciated.

Attachments

• 430926E3-2673-4EB9-9FA9-24BE60351DCF.png
    430926E3-2673-4EB9-9FA9-24BE60351DCF.png
    381.6 KB · Views: 24

TobyScreams

Twelve Pointer
I’ve never made any but check some places like brookside for supplies etc. I’ve gotten right many pieces of slate etc from them.

Packfan

Eight Pointer
A little bit more Google investigating this morning and I wound up finding Ricky Joe on FB. Sent him a message and an hour later I had an invoice for a Lil Jig and som extra supplies. $89 later and I’ll have a jig and enough supplies to make 40 calls. I’d say that’s worth he investment. I just hope that they turn out good enough to play.

Ol Copper

Twelve Pointer
I do...
Been doing it for a couple years now.
It was rough starting out a few years ago during the bad tape days and then the whole covid thing. Quality supplies were hard to come by for a time, but it has straightened itself out now.