Advice needed

The Foreigner

Button Buck
Ok folks, I'm fairly new to hunting and have little "field-knowledge". The private, 45 acre plot I have been hunting, which is surrounded by hundreds of acres of forest, water and swamp, has been cut down. Everything is gone except for the trees to which the tree stands were attached!

The company taking the trees is also spraying the undergrowth to kill it right back. Typically this property has been stuffed to the gills with deer, mainly does, but also a good number of bucks.

Two questions: what effect do you think this will have on this year's hunt? Some have said, the first year will be rough and then recover, others have said, that a 45 acre cut will be fantastic for hunting. Thoughts? Second question: do you , and when do you, start to feed pre-season?

Thanks in advance for any help.

Matt

aya28ga

Old Mossy Horns
Contributor
Its been my experience that "the first year will be rough and then recover," is usually the case. If the cutover is allowed to grow back, years two & three will improve; the key is to maintain paths & shooting lanes as the undergrowth grows back.

The Foreigner

Button Buck
Its been my experience that "the first year will be rough and then recover," is usually the case. If the cutover is allowed to grow back, years two & three will improve; the key is to maintain paths & shooting lanes as the undergrowth grows back.
Thanks. I should have added, that I believe they will be replanting pine throughout the 45 acres.

Southern

Ten Pointer
If they are spraying it, the recovery will likely be longer. You may have just a pass through plot for a few years. If not sprayed, years 2-4 or so are usually spectacular

Eric Revo

Old Mossy Horns
Contributor