.22 ammo performance

lasttombstone

Kinder, Gentler LTS
Since Billy asked about my statement about "the good stuff" I figured I would not hijack the other thread, especially since it seems to be going in every direction already, and start this one.

Disclaimer: I am no ammunition expert and speak only from personal experience.

Ammo for .22s can range anywhere from $.04/round to upwards of $.50/round. I have not tested a whole lot of different ammos as I'm sure some folks have but I'll leave that for them to chime in on. I only got into semi-serious target shooting a couple of years ago now. The Great Enabler, in my case, was Natebonebusta. I had been playing some of the on-line games with my ancient Stevens 66 bolt and was looking to help the accuracy of it when Nate hooked me up with a CZ 452 American. Until you have spent some time behind a really accurate rifle you really can't appreciate what they can do and it will take a good while to develop your own relationship with the rifle to understand the pecularities about that certain rifle.

For many shooters, minute of tin can is just fine, which should be just fine. The fact that that level of accuracy is good for them shoud not be criticized. The game I am playing is only 25 yards, from a bench, basiclly unmodified rifle, 9X limit on the scope. The center of the bull is the same diameter of a .22 round. 25 bulls, one shot at each. Believe me, it isn't as easy as it may sound.

When I was shooting the old Stevens I was constantly having flyers with CCI Mini-Mags. Moving down to CCI SV (standard velocity) really tightened the groups up. I could still hit a 3 in. plate at 100 yds. with it but not every shot.