More Clover Questions

getTwisted

Ten Pointer
My clover plots are coming up pretty decent. It looks like some of the oats from last fall are coming through the clover now. Should I spray it with Arrest Max?

Also will this clover die or go dormant in the heat of the summer then come back with the cooler weather in the fall? This is my first year with clover I'm trying to get a grasp of what to expect through the coming months.

I will post a picture for reference below.

getTwisted

Ten Pointer
d5c77a422d195af10eb323279920c884.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Reactions: jug

Eric Revo

Old Mossy Horns
Contributor
Looks great..I wouldn't do a darn thing but mow it after it seeds and spray for weeds if they get out of control.

KTMan

Twelve Pointer
Contributor
The oats will act as a sun barrier for the young clover. Plus deer and turkey will love it when it heads out.

jug

Old Mossy Horns
Contributor
I would not do jack. Looks great. That is what my clover pasture up in Rockingham county looked like 4 years ago. I got chicory mixed in now with orchardgrass and ryegrass. Some fescue has gotten in there in places. I need to hit those fescue clumps with glyphosate.

getTwisted

Ten Pointer
Just camp out on that place come November...[emoji6]

Yesss!! That’s the ultimate goal. I’ve got a stand on it and one below it in transition. Usually get good buck pics on it in September too.

jug

Old Mossy Horns
Contributor
They will hit it hard in early October and again in early November. They like a little salad with the acorns

25contender

Twelve Pointer
We were out mowing the clover last weekend and it really looks great with all the rain. I will have to go spray for grass again due to the rain. We also planted all the Chufa fields and Pearl Millet strips. This rain will be great for all the planting we did. We have a new gas line going in right now and will plant another couple acres near one of our creeks with clover in September.