New Hunter: Squirrel...rabbit?

sears303

Spike
I am new to hunting, never been out yet even. I have been reading, researching everything I can on safety, styles, anything that might help. Nothing like just getting out as far as I am concerned. I am looking to just hit the woods with my .22, public land or game land. I am wondering if anyone has any tips for a new hunter in the mountain area?

I don't want to piss off any deer hunters by pressuring their prize, but it's also public land and I am trying to get some experience. Any local type info would be great to hear. Thanks!

nccatfisher

Old Mossy Horns
Contributor
Get out and hunt, right now target mast trees. Soon as the leaves drop forget those "pretty" big hardwoods. Contrary to what people think they for the most part will be as barren as the desert because squirrels will feel vulnerable to predators. Hunt fringe areas, mast around thick vegetation. They will forage for that mast but stay in the brush and vines that make them feel concealed. The absolute honeyhole if you can find it once the leaves have fallen off is drainages that have hardwoods that are covered in vines and the understory is thick. That is a squirrel mecca. River bottoms like this is also great.

nccatfisher

Old Mossy Horns
Contributor
Thanks for all the info @nccatfisher !!
I don't squirrel hunt much anymore as I can't walk half days at a time. I dog hunt when I do. Once the leaves get off we target areas many folks would consider better rabbit habitat but that is where the squirrels will be. They aren't dumb, avian predators give them a fit. Not to mention there are a few ground dwellers that get them also. I forgot to mention that this is grey squirrel info. Fox squirrel is considerably different. I wouldn't even remotely have the patience to still hunt them.

sears303

Spike
I wouldn't mind coming across a rabbit or 2 in my travels as well. Seems like that area you mention would be great all around.

KrisB

Ten Pointer