Red woof attack

41magfan

Twelve Pointer
Contributor
I'm no lawyer but I think the family has enough evidence for a civil case.

Based on what little I've seen, I'm inclined to agree. The standard of proof in a civil claim is the preponderance of evidence .... or simply "more probable than not".

JoeSam1975

Twelve Pointer
Contributor
Let's think of it like this....if this was a murder trial
And the dogs were on trial, with the evidence presented would they be guilty or not guilty....BASED SOLELY ON EVIDENCE, NOT FEELINGS

And I "inherited" a female blue pit from a friend about a year ago. He moved and couldn't take dog per HOA. I love that dog, but will NOT let her any where close to my grandson or any other small child. The only people allowed around her are me, my son and my friend who owned her previously.

Sunny

Button Buck
I'm sorry, but why were the dogs "let out"?
That's a very unusual thing to do with or without screams.
I've never opened a door and turned a dog loose. In my county in NC that would be a misdemeanor and direct violation of the leash law.
Seems like whoever opened the door and turned dogs "loose" has liability.
Especially with victims blood in their mouths?
We have great animal control in my county, however, owners who turn their dogs loose are the reason why I don't walk in my neighborhood anymore.
If a woman is heard screaming , I want to get to the victim before my dog does.
I can't outrun my dog. A dog on the scene before me will not be any help to a victim. A dog adds another element to deal with.
Turning the dogs loose is counter productive and would be illegal in this county - Rowan, NC

Wanchese

Twelve Pointer
A lot of areas don't have leash laws. I live in one of those areas. Probably close to a third of the houses here have a dog that's not in a fence or on a leash.

The dog I have now is the first one I've kept inside or in a fence when I'm not with her.

Sunny

Button Buck