M1 Garand info

gpduxbak

Six Pointer
A local gun shop had this on consignment and I was pretty interested. A few days later it had been sold. Little did I know that my wife had bought it and gave it to me for Christmas. Awesome gift in that I’ve wanted one a long while. I have limited knowledge but here’s what I know. It’s a 1945 Springfield receiver. 1945 SA barrel, SA bolt carrier. Probably restocked with the circle P cartouch. I can’t find any other stock markings. It has the early model milled trigger guard that I think changed around 1944. I’ve heard about the op rods. What do I need to look for?What ammo is acceptable. Should I have a Garand smith check for spec before firing? I have the contact info of the original owner. I’m gonna try and get some history on it. Overall I’m really happy with it but I’d like to know more. Experts chime in. Gadget help me out.

Attachments

• 0BF3D244-5CCD-4865-A727-878A9A90AD2F.jpeg
    0BF3D244-5CCD-4865-A727-878A9A90AD2F.jpeg
    84.8 KB · Views: 60

Mr.Gadget

Old Mossy Horns
Im hunting now.
Looks like it will be a good on.
They may be rebuild marks on the leg of the reciever but the P is just a proof mark that was used on the military stock.
Parts range all over as far as time frame. Some guns are known to have parts that were earlier or later production pending how they loaded or rotated the parts bin.
Where are you.
I could really get into it and gauge the parts.
You will need to look at a few things before you jusg carry it out to shoot.
Only shoot military 150 ball. There are some mil spec ammo out there like winchester or PMC.
You want to look for parts that could be welded or damaged before anything, make sure of headspace and spring if the history of the gun is not known.
There are SA markings then lot numbers that tell the time frame of the parts.
Only the barrel has a date, reciever it a date range and also parts.
Most all parts will have a marking or way to ID the maker, time frame

41magnum

Twelve Pointer