1937 Dodge D-5 4 Door Touring Sedan

Sharps40

Old Mossy Horns
This where I'm at. Run the wheels off and when I can't Keep it up, sell it to someone who'll do her over again.

Sharps40

Old Mossy Horns
Good progress on cooling today. Just a simple idle speed airflow issue...e.g. very low air flow. As such the power hog electrical fan runs quite a bit.

For the nonce, a 16 in fan with steep pitch was installed closer to the radiator and I swapped in a larger crank pulley for a factory like 18% overdrive of the pump and fan. I have another upper pully to take it to 32% but dont think it'll be needed.

The new mechanical fan actually sucks a hand towel flat against the radiator at idle. Before, the smaller one struggled to move tissue paper.

I was able to recalibrate the auxiliary electric fan to 200f on and 190f off.

Hot days are coming so we'll see how this works. I have an average 60 degree temp drop from top to bottom of the radiator now.

If all is well, I may switch over the winter to shrouded mechanical and place the radiator back into the factory position (its 4 in fwd now to allow for the electric fan). Big job, so a good winter project. The electric could be disposed of or reversed as an auxiliary pusher.

Time for a drive in heavy traffic. I think idle temps will be steadier now with much less electric fan action.

20220322_155807.jpg20220322_155824.jpg

Last edited:

Sharps40

Old Mossy Horns
Got real busy today and pulled out the entire electric fan assembly. The new mechanical freewheeled the electric and overall it was hell for loud.

I like the looks of the engine bay better now and have plenty of room. I left the radiator forward mounted and have good access for making up a shroud and I can probably fit a slightly larger fan too.

Raining now but riding tomorrow.

Sharps40

Old Mossy Horns
Nice and clean. First. (PS) shroud bracket made up and fitted. Using ABS for the shroud. Easy to form and nicely stiff.

20220324_130515.jpg

Sharps40