Goose on Tuckertown

I am new to waterfowl hunting. I get that central NC is far from an ideal location. I see from other threads here and elsewhere that Tuckertown and Badin get covered up with hunters, especially for ducks. I was told by a buddy that I'd do better focusing on geese, especially on Tuckertown. Anybody have any helpful advice other than just "stay home"?

JONOV

Twelve Pointer
Scout...Not being snarky, but Geese are much easier to scout for...look for them flying back to or from feeding areas from the lake, pass shoot or decoy them in.

Mallard Cutter

Six Pointer
If there’s birds using an area be sure to start camping out at least four to five days ahead to secure your spot !! That way idiots can set up within 59 yards of ya 20 minutes before shooting time !! Then they can say “ oh I didn’t see your spread out my bad “ and they don’t leave. I’m so glad I don’t hunt public land anymore.

Terry

Four Pointer
last time I hunted tuckertown with my daughter got there about an hour early got set up cooking breakfast 10 minutes before shooting light boat come in set up 40 yards from me😡I was not happy we had word but they wouldn't leave nothing I could do

Clark

Ten Pointer
last time I hunted tuckertown with my daughter got there about an hour early got set up cooking breakfast 10 minutes before shooting light boat come in set up 40 yards from me😡I was not happy we had word but they wouldn't leave nothing I could do
Move to 10 yards downwind

Clark

Ten Pointer
Me move but of course why did I think of that
I've done it a couple of times. Picked up my gear, went to the end of their dekes and sat down :D . They go nuts when you are wading in their dekes to pick up your birds :taz:! Would not do it again, last time they threatened to shoot me.

Bailey Boat

Twelve Pointer